Iginla joins elite group with 30 goals in 10 straight seasons


, , ,

With his penalty shot goal on Nashville Predators goalie Pekka Rinne in the 2nd period tonight, Jarome Iginla has joined an elite group of NHL scorers who have shown a consistent ability to put the puck in the net. Iginla scored his 30th goal of the season for the 10th season in a row.

Only 10 players in NHL history have managed this feat. See if you can identify them below.

Mike Gartner Jaromir Jagr Phil Esposito, Boston Bruins Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers Bobby Hull Chicago Blackhawks NHL Marcel Dionne LA Kings NHL Mike Bossy NY Islanders NHL Hockey Jari Kurri Edmonton Oilers NHL Darryl Sittler Toronto Maple Leafs NHL Jarome Igina, Calgary Flames

For posterity, here’s the list of players, including the number of consecutive seasons they’ve scored 30 or more goals.
Mike Gartner – 15
Jaromir Jagr – 15
Phil Esposito – 15
Wayne Gretzky – 13
Bobby Hull – 13
Marcel Dionne 12
Mike Bossy – 10
Jarri Kurri – 10
Darryl Sittler – 10
Jarome Iginla – 10

Congrats on joining this amazing group of players, Iggy! Time to celebrate by buying an Iggy Shirt!

About Greg Hounslow (558 Posts)

Greg is the founder of Red Mile Blog has been following the Flames through good times and bad since they arrived in Calgary in the early 80s. He has written hundreds of articles on the Flames since 2005 and considers himself an expert on hockey inconsistency and frustration. He shoots right and usually plays defence, but has been known to jump up in the rush. He is a 2-time CAHL men's league champion and knows the sweet taste of beer from a Cup.

Copyright © 2015 Red Mile – The Calgary Flames Blog. Privacy policy & Terms of use.